CyberInsights
The blog about your IT security

CVSS: Knowing IT vulnerabilities and assessing risks correctly

CVSS: Knowing IT vulnerabilities and assessing risks correctly

Increasing digital connectivity and opportunities mean that security requirements for IT systems are becoming more and more complex. The standardized Common Vulnerability Scoring System (CVSS) helps companies assess the severity of IT vulnerabilities. We show you how the CVSS scoring system works and explain why the risk posed by vulnerabilities should be assessed individually for each company.

CVSS: The Common Vulnerability Scoring System

The Common Vulnerability Scoring System can be used to measure how vulnerable an IT system is based on certain factors. It was developed in 2005 by a working group of the US Department of Homeland Security, the National Infrastructure Advisory Council (NIAC). Since then, the CVSS has been continuously developed and improved in cooperation with large companies and organizations from the IT sector and has established itself as a fixed standard.  

This is how the CVSS works

Using a uniform scoring system, ascending from “none”, “low”, “medium” to “high” and “critical” vulnerability, companies can use the Common Vulnerability Scoring System to evaluate security gaps in their IT landscape and assign them to the various categories. Defined benchmarks and criteria are used to determine not only the classification but also the severity of the vulnerabilities – depending on the area in which a vulnerability is identified, the CVSS serves as a standardized reference value and must be applied to the circumstances accordingly. In addition to the severity, the CVSS can also be used to measure the assumed probability that a cyber attack will occur as a result of these vulnerabilities. If all factors are included in the calculation, the CVSS can also be used to determine the potential amount of damage. This gives companies a precise overview of risk factors in their IT systems, allows them to compare the respective vulnerabilities and then derive security measures. In this way, optimization potential is efficiently exploited.

CVE vs. CVSS: Naming and rating

While the CVSS can be used to assess risk factors in the IT sector, the Common Vulnerabilities and Exposure (CVE) is used to clearly name known vulnerabilities and security gaps in a system or product. The CVE system uses a fixed pattern to ensure that there is no duplication or confusion when naming the threats. The name is composed of the abbreviation CVE, the year in which the problem is discovered, and a sequential number to precisely identify the vulnerability. For example, the abbreviation of the recently disclosed critical Log4j vulnerability is CVE-2021-44228.

Each reported vulnerability is assigned a unique identification number in order to educate users about potential risks and catalog the vulnerability. However, the number of vulnerabilities says nothing about the quality of the products, especially since large manufacturers usually have a large number of offerings and thus the probability of vulnerabilities also increases. CVSS and CVE are thus not directly related to each other and can be used independently.

Calculation of the CVSS score

In order to determine how serious the degree of a vulnerability is and how high the CVSS score is accordingly, various criteria must be taken into account in the calculation. The score basically consists of three main categories: Base Score, Temporal Score and Environmental Score. The groups are made up of different values, such as integrity or availability. The categories can influence each other and have to be adjusted depending on the business environment and temporal development. There are predefined choices for each indicator, which in the overall picture result in a score between 0 and 10, where 0 describes no risk and 10 a high risk.

1. CVSS Base Score: Calculate hazard potential

The Base Score describes how dangerous an IT security vulnerability is and how high the potential is for it to be exploited for cyberattacks. The calculation is based on the essential technical characteristics of a vulnerability: The exploitability metrics, for example, describe the conditions under which an attack can occur. The impact metrics, on the other hand, can be used to determine the extent of damage. The scope metric is used to determine whether an attack has an impact on components of other systems. The base score is determined once for each vulnerability – usually by the person who discovers the vulnerability, the manufacturer of the product or IT specialists.

2. CVSS Temporal Score: Identifying vulnerabilities

The Temporal Score summarizes temporal changes that can have an influence on the exposure to certain vulnerabilities. The Temporal Score can increase, for example, if the Exploitability Code Maturity is used to record when a previously only described vulnerability actually occurs. Manufacturers use Report Confidence to officially confirm this vulnerability and name it using a unique CVE ID. In order to positively influence the Temporal Score, many manufacturers also provide a fix for the problem and thus lower the Remediation Level, one of the three values of the Temporal Score.

3. CVSS Enviromental Score: Increase IT Security

With the Environmental Score, the values can be specifically adapted to your own IT architecture and system environment. To do this, it is important to analyze in advance which systems are urgently required for trouble-free operation. These are taken into account as relevant factors in the calculation. The IT protection goals already discussed in the Base Score are used for this purpose: What measures are necessary and already in use to increase the company’s own IT security and protect confidential information? Depending on the extent to which the protection goals could be violated by a cyber attack, the CVSS score is increased or can be subsequently lowered.

Correctly assess CVSS evaluation and risks

Once the CVSS scores have been used to assess the company’s own security level, they can be added up to an overall score. Many companies consider the results listed as the most important basis for action for their own IT risk management. However, the dangers they pose should be assessed individually for each company. In practice, it is seen time and again that a vulnerability in the medium risk category (criticality), for example, can be especially risky for a particular company and should therefore be given priority.

Specialized service providers such as DGC provide the expertise required for this assessment and support with tailored security consulting as well as comprehensive attack monitoring and defense. With the help of the cyberscan.io® vulnerability scanner, the security experts in the so-called Cyber Defense Operations Center (CDOC) monitor various sources on a daily basis and indicate which vulnerabilities need to be addressed immediately and what priority should be given to further vulnerability reports. In this way, companies always have an eye on the performance of their systems, identify risks at an early stage and can proactively protect their data against threats from the network.

If you have any questions on this topic or would like to learn more about our services and solutions, please do not hesitate to contact us via our contact form.

Follow us on

Subscribe to our newsletter on the topic of cyber security

With our Cyberletter you are always up to date - about vulnerability reports, current IT threat scenarios and other relevant news from the field of cyber security and data security.

By registering, I accept the handling of my personal data (§13 DSGVO) and agree to the privacy policy.

CyberInsights
Der Blog rund um
Ihre Datensicherheit

CVSS: IT-Schwachstellen kennen und Risiken richtig einschätzen

DGC-CyberInsights-CVSS

Die zunehmende Vernetzung und das steigende Angebot an digitalen Möglichkeiten führen dazu, dass die Sicherheitsanforderungen an IT-Systeme immer komplexer werden. Das standardisierte Common Vulnerability Scoring System (CVSS) unterstützt Unternehmen dabei, den Schweregrad von IT-Schwachstellen zu bewerten. Wir zeigen Ihnen, wie das CVSS-Bewertungssystem funktioniert und erklären, weshalb das von Schwachstellen ausgehende Risiko für jedes Unternehmen individuell eingeschätzt werden sollte.

CVSS: Das Common Vulnerability Scoring System

Mit dem Common Vulnerability Scoring System lässt sich anhand bestimmter Faktoren messen, wie verwundbar ein IT-System ist. Entworfen wurde es 2005 von einer Arbeitsgruppe des US-Ministeriums für Innere Sicherheit, der National Infrastructure Advisory Council (NIAC). Seitdem wird das CVSS stetig und in Kooperation mit großen Unternehmen und Organisationen aus dem IT-Bereich weiterentwickelt und hat sich als fester Standard etabliert.

So funktioniert das CVSS

Mittels eines einheitlichen Punktesystems, aufsteigend von „keiner”, „niedriger”, „mittlerer” bis zu „hoher” und „kritischer” Verwundbarkeit, können Unternehmen mit dem Common Vulnerability Scoring System Sicherheitslücken in ihrer IT-Landschaft bewerten und diese den unterschiedlichen Kategorien zuordnen. Festgelegte Maßstäbe und Kriterien dienen dazu, neben der Einstufung auch den Schweregrad der Lücken zu bestimmen – je nach Bereich, in dem eine Sicherheitslücke ausfindig gemacht wird, dient das CVSS hierbei als standardisierter Richtwert und muss entsprechend auf die Begebenheiten bezogen werden. Neben dem Schweregrad lässt sich mit dem CVSS auch die anzunehmende Wahrscheinlichkeit, dass es aufgrund dieser Lücken zu einem Cyberangriff kommt, messen. Werden alle Faktoren in die Berechnung mit einbezogen, kann über das CVSS außerdem die potenzielle Höhe des Schadens ermittelt werden. So erhalten Unternehmen einen genauen Überblick über Risikofaktoren in ihren Computersystemen, können die jeweilige Verwundbarkeit miteinander vergleichen und anschließend Sicherheitsmaßnahmen ableiten. Optimierungspotenziale werden auf diese Weise effizient ausgeschöpft.

CVE vs. CVSS: Benennung und Bewertung

Während mit dem CVSS Risikofaktoren im IT-Bereich bewertet werden können, wird das Common Vulnerabilities and Exposure (CVE) genutzt, um bekannte Schwachstellen und Sicherheitslücken eines Systems oder Produkts eindeutig zu benennen. Mit einem festgelegten Muster sorgt das CVE-System dafür, dass es bei der Benennung der Gefahren zu keinen Dopplungen oder Verwechslungen kommt. Der Name setzt sich dabei aus dem Kürzel CVE, der Jahreszahl, in der das Problem entdeckt wird, sowie einer fortlaufenden Nummer zur genauen Identifizierung der Schwachstelle zusammen. Beispielsweise lautet das Kürzel der kürzlich bekannt gewordenen kritischen Log4j- Schwachstelle: CVE-2021-44228.

Jeder gemeldeten Schwachstelle wird eine eindeutige Identifikationsnummer zugeordnet, um die Anwender über mögliche Risiken aufzuklären und die Sicherheitslücke zu katalogisieren. Die Anzahl der Schwachstellen sagt jedoch nichts über die Qualität der Produkte aus, zumal große Hersteller in der Regel eine Vielzahl an Angeboten haben und somit auch die Wahrscheinlichkeit für Schwachstellen steigt. CVSS und CVE stehen somit in keinem direkten Zusammenhang miteinander und können unabhängig eingesetzt werden.

Berechnung des CVSS-Scores

Um festzustellen, wie schwer der Grad einer Schwachstelle wiegt und wie hoch der CVSS-Score entsprechend ausfällt, müssen bei der Berechnung verschiedene Kriterien berücksichtigt werden. Der Score besteht im Grunde aus drei Hauptkategorien: Base Score, Temporal Score und Environmental Score. Die Gruppen setzen sich dabei aus verschiedenen Werten zusammen, wie beispielsweise Integrität oder Verfügbarkeit. Die Kategorien können sich gegenseitig beeinflussen und müssen je nach Unternehmensumgebung und zeitlicher Entwicklung angepasst werden. Für jeden Indikator gibt es vorgefertigte Wahlmöglichkeiten, die im Gesamtbild einen Score zwischen 0 und 10 ergeben, wobei 0 kein Risiko und 10 ein hohes Risiko beschreibt.

1. CVSS Base Score: Gefährdungspotenzial berechnen

Der Base Score beschreibt, wie gefährlich eine IT-Sicherheitslücke ist und wie hoch das Potenzial ist, dass diese für Cyberangriffe ausgenutzt werden kann. Zur Berechnung werden die grundlegenden technischen Merkmale einer Schwachstelle herangezogen: Die Exploitability-Metriken beschreiben zum Beispiel, unter welchen Voraussetzungen ein Angriff erfolgen kann. Mit den Impact-Metriken lässt sich dagegen das Ausmaß eines Schadens ermitteln. Mit der Scope-Metrik wird festgehalten, ob ein Angriff Auswirkungen auf Bestandteile weiterer Systeme hat. Der Base Score wird für jede Schwachstelle einmal festgelegt – in der Regel von der Person, die die Schwachstelle entdeckt, dem Hersteller des Produkts oder IT-Fachkräften.

2. CVSS Temporal Score: Schwachstellen identifizieren

Der Temporal Score fasst zeitliche Veränderungen zusammen, die Einfluss auf die Gefährdung durch bestimmte Sicherheitslücken haben können. Der Temporal Score kann sich zum Beispiel erhöhen, wenn mit der Exploitability Code Maturity festgehalten wird, ab wann eine zuvor nur beschriebene Schwachstelle tatsächlich auftritt. Über die Report Confidence bestätigen Hersteller diese Schwachstelle offiziell und benennen sie anhand einer eindeutigen CVE-ID. Um den Temporal Score positiv zu beeinflussen, stellen viele Hersteller zusätzlich einen Fix zur Behebung des Problems zur Verfügung und senken somit das Remediation Level, einer der drei Werte des Temporal Scores, herab.

3. CVSS Enviromental Score: IT-Sicherheit erhöhen

Mit dem Environmental Score lassen sich die Werte konkret an die eigene IT-Architektur und Systemumgebung anpassen. Dafür ist es wichtig im Vorfeld zu analysieren, welche Systeme für einen störungsfreien Betrieb dringend notwendig sind. Diese werden in der Berechnung als relevante Faktoren berücksichtigt. Dafür werden die bereits im Base Score thematisierten IT-Schutzziele herangezogen: Welche Maßnahmen sind notwendig und bereits im Einsatz, um die eigene IT-Sicherheit zu erhöhen und vertrauliche Informationen zu schützen? Je nachdem, wie stark die Schutzziele durch einen Cyberangriff verletzt werden könnten, erhöht sich der CVSS-Score oder kann nachträglich abgesenkt werden.

CVSS-Bewertung und Risiken richtig einschätzen

Nachdem die CVSS-Scores zur Bewertung des eigenen Sicherheitslevels herangezogen wurden, lassen sich diese zu einem Gesamt-Score verrechnen. Viele Unternehmen sehen die aufgeführten Ergebnisse als wichtigste Handlungsgrundlage für das eigene IT-Risikomanagement. Dabei sollten die davon ausgehenden Gefahren für jedes Unternehmen individuell eingeschätzt werden. In der Praxis zeigt sich immer wieder, dass etwa eine Schwachstelle der mittleren Gefahrenkategorie (Kritikalität) besonders riskant für ein bestimmtes Unternehmen sein kann und daher bevorzugt behandelt werden sollte.

Spezialisierte Dienstleister wie die Deutsche Gesellschaft für Cybersicherheit stellen das für diese Einschätzung notwendige Know-how bereit und unterstützen mit einer maßgeschneiderten Sicherheitsberatung sowie einer umfassenden Angriffsüberwachung und -abwehr. Die Sicherheitsexperten im sogenannten Cyber Defense Operations Center (CDOC) beobachten mit Hilfe des Schwachstellenscanners cyberscan.io® täglich diverse Quellen und zeigen auf, welche Schwachstellen es umgehend zu beheben gilt und welche Priorität weiteren Schwachstellenmeldungen beigemessen werden sollte. So haben Unternehmen die Leistungsfähigkeit ihrer Systeme stets im Blick, erkennen Risiken frühzeitig und können ihre Daten proaktiv vor Gefahren aus dem Netz schützen.

Wenn Sie Fragen zu dem Thema haben oder mehr über unsere Leistungen und Lösungen erfahren möchten, stehen wir Ihnen über unser Kontaktformular jederzeit zur Verfügung.

Folgen Sie uns auf