CyberInsights
The blog about your IT security

Cyber security: Where do German SMEs stand?

More than 99 percent of German companies are small and medium-sized enterprises (SMEs) and more than half of all jobs are based there.

And yet large sections of German SMEs underestimate the risks from cyberspace. Successful cyberattacks can pose an existential threat to companies – because in most cases they paralyze their entire operations. Then the battle against time begins. The pressure on medium-sized businesses is increasing: Attacks on corporate IT through forged e-mails, or infiltrated malware, are among the greatest risks for companies today. They paralyze production lines, damage reputations, scare off customers and thus cause enormous financial and immaterial damage. The attackers have long since ceased to differentiate between large corporations and medium-sized businesses. German family businesses and SMEs are just as seriously affected, especially since they are often less well protected than publicly known corporations.

This is why we have compiled the most important statistics and insights for SMEs.

Insight into the cyber security of medium-sized enterprises (SMEs)

In the age of digitalization, it is not only new technologies that are creating incredible opportunities, but also threats from the cyber environment. How important is IT security to German SMEs?

SMEs – the backbone of German industry:

More than 99 percent of German companies are SMEs. Small and medium-sized enterprises generate more than one in every two euros and account for well over half of all of all jobs in Germany. SMEs make a significant contribution to economic strength.

Percentage of SMEs in the German economy
  • 6.01 million businesses and self-employed persons of small and medium-sized enterprises
  • €5.55 trillion revenue of businesses and the self-employed persons
  • 39.67 million employees in the SME sector

Cyber Security – Underestimated and often tackled in a half-hearted way

With their range of innovative business models and high number of patent applications, German SMEs in particular represent lucrative targets for attackers. But at the same time, these small and medium-sized enterprises often underestimate how important comprehensive cyber security measures are. This is also illustrated by the following facts in comparison to large companies:

  • 49% – Almost half of the small companies still do not have any employees dedicated to cyber security.
  • For large corporations, this figure is around 2%.
  • On average, companies spent 13% of their budgets on cyber security improvement measures in 2020.
  • 72% of companies plan to further increase cyber security spending in 2021 – a much-needed investment.
Cyber threats: SMEs are comparatively poorly protected
  • In 2020, one in four companies still has no person that is responsible for cyber security.
  • Cyber security is now a top priority for 63% of large corporations, but only for 23% of small companies.
  • 5% of companies use software that in some cases has not received security updates for years.
  • The darknet contains email and password combinations from almost every second company. One reason for this is that employees had registered with their email addresses on gaming websites or dating platforms.

Cyber Security in SMEs: Now is the right time to act

Rising risks are still underestimated in many SMEs. The sharp rise in cybercrime worldwide in connection with COVID-19 and the resulting damage show how important it is to have a high level of awareness of cyber risks in companies.

The particular problem for companies: If malware exploits a security vulnerability and enters the company’s internal network, the consequences are usually severe. Due to the dense networking, such a virus spreads extremely quickly and can even paralyze entire work processes. In the event of a cyber attack, companies are threatened with the loss of sensitive customer data as well as confidential internal company information. This form of industrial espionage and data theft causes annual damage of €51 billion in Germany. Not only large companies are affected, but also small and medium-sized enterprises.

Start using cyberscan.io – The Cyber Security Tool of Tomorrow

In order to identify where vulnerabilities or anomalies exist in the IT structure at an early stage, clear verification and visualization of all individual security risks is essential. This is exactly what we exclusively provide you with on cyberscan.io®. Stay up to date with patch and lifecycle management by continuously performing vulnerability scans and find quick solutions to your everyday challenges, or avoid them entirely! Our software cyberscan.io® is designed to reduce complexity and workload for IT professionals. At the same time, it is a powerful tool for executives to quickly and easily assess the IT security of a given IT infrastructure. In addition, cyberscan.io® provides quick insight into the vulnerabilities of individual home office IP addresses. These can be checked with our “scan yourself” feature, even without registering on our website. Don’t leave cyber security to chance and scan your IT infrastructures continuously!

Follow us on

CyberInsights
Der Blog rund um
Ihre Datensicherheit

Cyber Security: Wo steht der deutsche Mittelstand?

Cyber Security: Wo steht der deutsche Mittelstand?

Mehr als 99 Prozent der Deutschen Unternehmen sind kleine und mittelständische Unternehmen und mehr als die Hälfte aller Arbeitsplätze sind dort angesiedelt.

Und trotzdem unterschätzen weite Teile des deutschen Mittelstands die Risiken aus dem Cyberspace. Erfolgreiche Cyberattacken können Unternehmen existenziell gefährden – denn in den meisten Fällen legen sie den kompletten Betrieb lahm. Dann beginnt der Kampf gegen die Zeit. Der Druck auf den Mittelstand steigt: Angriffe auf die Unternehmens-IT durch gefälschte E-Mails, oder eingeschleuste Schadsoftware, gehören heute zu den größten Risiken für Unternehmen. Sie legen Produktionslinien lahm, schädigen den Ruf, schrecken die Kunden ab und verursachen somit enormen finanziellen und immateriellen Schaden. Die Angreifer unterscheiden dabei schon lange nicht mehr zwischen Großkonzernen und Mittelstand. Deutsche Familienunternehmen und Mittelständler sind ebenso massiv betroffen, zumal sie oft schlechter gesichert sind als öffentlich bekannte Kapitalgesellschaften.

Aus diesem Grund haben wir für den Mittelstand die wichtigsten Statistiken und Insights zusammengetragen.

Einblick in die Cyber Security von mittelständischen Unternehmen (KMUs)

Im Zeitalter der Digitalisierung entstehen nicht nur unfassbare Chancen aus neuen Technologien, sondern auch Bedrohungen aus dem Cyberumfeld. Welchen Stellenwert genießt IT-Sicherheit im deutschen Mittelstand?

Anteil an KMUs in der deutschen Wirtschaft

Cyber Security – Unterschätzt und oftmals halbherzig angegangen

Gerade deutsche Mittelständler stellen mit ihrer Bandbreite an innovativen Geschäftsmodellen und der hohen Zahl an Patentanmeldungen lukrative Ziele für Angreifer dar. Doch gleichzeitig unterschätzen diese kleinen und mittelständischen Unternehmen häufig, wie wichtig umfassende Cybersicherheitsmaßnahmen sind. Das wird auch anhand der folgenden Fakten im Vergleich zu Großunternehmen deutlich:

  • 49% – Knapp die Hälfte der kleinen Unternehmen hat weiterhin keine Mitarbeiter, die sich dezidiert um Cybersicherheit kümmern.
  • Bei Großkonzernen liegt dieser Wert nur bei 2%.
  • 13% ihres Budgets gaben Unternehmen 2020 durchschnittlich für Maßnahmen zur Verbesserung der Cybersicherheit aus.
  • 72% der Firmen planen eine weitere Erhöhung der Ausgaben für Cybersicherheit in 2021 –eine dringend nötige Investition.
Cyber-Gefahren: KMUs sind vergleichsweise schlecht geschützt

Cyber Security in KMUs: Der richtige Zeitpunkt ist spätestens jetzt

Steigende Risiken werden im Mittelstand vielfach noch immer unterschätzt. Der starke weltweite Anstieg von Cyberkriminalität im Zusammenhang mit COVID-19 und die daraus entstandenen Schäden zeigen, wie wichtig hohes Bewusstsein für Cyber-Risiken in Unternehmen ist.

Das besondere Problem für Unternehmen: Wenn Schadsoftware eine Sicherheitslücke nutzt und in das unternehmensinterne Netzwerk gelangt, sind die Folgen meist schwerwiegend. Durch die dichte Vernetzung breitet sich ein solcher Virus extrem schnell aus und kann sogar ganze Arbeitsprozesse lahmlegen. Den Unternehmen drohen im Falle eines Cyberangriffs der Verlust von sensiblen Kundendaten, aber auch vertraulicher unternehmensinterner Informationen. Durch diese Form von Industriespionage und Datenklau entsteht in Deutschland jährlich ein Schaden von 51 Milliarden Euro. Betroffen sind keineswegs nur Großunternehmen sondern eben auch der Mittelstand.

Nutzen Sie cyberscan.io – Das Cyber Security Tool von morgen

Um frühzeitig zu erkennen, wo Schwachstellen oder Anomalien in der IT-Struktur bestehen, ist eine klare Verifizierung und Visualisierung aller einzelnen Sicherheitsrisiken unerlässlich. Genau dies stellen wir Ihnen exklusiv auf cyberscan.io® zur Verfügung. Bleiben Sie mit Patch- und Lifecycle-Management auf dem neuesten Stand durch die kontinuierliche Durchführung von Schwachstellenscans und finden Sie schnelle Lösungen für Ihren alltäglichen Herausforderungen, oder vermeiden Sie diese ganz und gar! Unsere Entwicklung cyberscan.io® ist darauf ausgerichtet, die Komplexität und den Arbeitsumfang für IT-Fachleute zu reduzieren. Gleichzeitig ist es ein leistungsstarkes Werkzeug für Führungskräfte, um die IT-Sicherheit einer gegebenen IT-Infrastruktur schnell und einfach beurteilen zu können. Darüber hinaus bietet cyberscan.io® einen schnellen Einblick in die Schwachstellen einzelner Home-Office-IP-Adressen. Diese können mit unserer „Scannen Sie sich selbst“-Funktion überprüft werden, sogar ohne sich auf unserer Website zu registrieren. Überlassen Sie die Cybersicherheit nicht dem Zufall und scannen Sie Ihre IT-Infrastrukturen kontinuierlich!

Folgen Sie uns auf

Abonnieren Sie unseren Newsletter rund um das Thema Cybersicherheit

Mit unserem Cyberletter sind Sie stets topaktuell informiert - über Schwachstellenmeldungen, aktuelle IT-Bedrohungsszenarien sowie andere relevante Nachrichten aus dem Bereich Cyber Security und Datensicherheit

Mit der Anmeldung akzeptiere ich den Umgang mit meinen personenbezogenen Daten (§13 DSGVO) und stimme der Datenschutzerklärung zu.