CyberInsights
The blog about your IT security

Phishing: The most popular scam of cybercriminals

The methods used by cybercriminals are becoming more and more advanced and are causing more damage to victims every year. One well-known and increasingly popular method used by attackers is phishing. This cybercrime scam is also constantly evolving and now uses particularly sophisticated tactics. In this article, we explain what is commonly understood by phishing and what the various methods are.

What is phishing?

Phishing is a method designed to trick you into revealing passwords, credit card numbers, and other sensitive information by having the scammers pose as a trusted person or institution. Those who have already been affected by an attack fell for email phishing most often (56%). This was followed by phishing websites (36%), phone phishing (22%) and fake SMS (10%).

Phishing is therefore the most popular scam used by cybercriminals. In the first quarter of 2020 alone, the threat of phishing attacks increased by 21% compared to the fourth quarter of 2019, and for good reason, because a successful phishing attack can open up additional gateways. This makes phishing one of the biggest risks you should protect yourself and your employees from.

But phishing can be carried out in various ways and has long since ceased to be limited to the common e-mail phishing.

Cybercriminals “phish” for your sensitive data with these 10 phishing methods

From clone phishing to smishing to whaling, there are numerous phishing methods that attackers use to get your valuable data in different ways. Below, we have summarized the most common tactics you should protect yourself against:

1. CEO Fraud

CEO fraud occurs when a cybercriminal sends an email to an employee – often to someone who works in the accounting or finance department – pretending to be the company’s CEO or another executive. The goal of these emails is to transfer funds to a fake account.

2. Clone Phishing

A clone phishing attack takes advantage of legitimate messages that the victim has already received to create a malicious version of them. This is then sent from an email address that looks legitimate. All links and attachments from the original email are replaced with malicious ones. The cyber criminals use the excuse that there were problems with the links or attachments in the previous mail – trying to trick the users into clicking on them.

3. Domain Phishing

In this method, the domain (website) of a company or organization is faked. In order to bring users to this domain, emails are sent – either with the sender of the domain, or via fake addresses of trusted contacts. The content of the email can contain a credible text with a link or just a link. This is either clickable or inactive, so the recipient has to copy it to the web address bar. In this case, it is hard even for security filters to detect the phishing attempt. Once on the website, the visitor is now tricked into revealing personal information. Common examples of domain spoofing are privacy requests, sweepstakes, security checks, etc.

4. Evil Twin

Evil Twin phishing pretends to be a legitimate WiFi access point, which allows the attacker to collect personal or business information without the user’s knowledge. This type of attack is also known as Starbucks scam because it often takes place in coffee shops. In Evil Twin phishing, a cybercriminal creates a WiFi hotspot that looks like the real one – it even uses the specified service identifier (SSID), which is identical to the real network. When the user connects, the attacker can eavesdrop on their network traffic and view sensitive data.

5. Smishing

Smishing is the short form of “SMS phishing”. In smishing, a text message is sent to the recipient’s smartphone that appears to come from trusted sources and contains malicious URLs that users are supposed to click on. Often, alleged coupon codes for discount promotions, free tickets to events or other benefits are promised. The goal is to obtain confidential information that cyber criminals can use to steal your online identity.

6. Spear Phishing

Spear phishing emails target specific individuals within an organization. Using social engineering tactics, they tailor and personalize the emails to their intended victims. For example, email subject lines may contain interesting topics that tempt the recipient to open the message and click on links or attachments. The goal is to steal data or infect the recipient’s computer with malware. This allows Spear phishing attackers to gain access to the recipient’s network and accounts.

7. Vishing

The term stands for “voice phishing”, in which a criminal calls your phone to get you to hand over personal data in order to gain access to your accounts. Usually, you are not called directly in the initial contact, but are encouraged to call back. A computer dials you and immediately hangs up. When you call back, you have the perpetrator on the line, who likes to pretend to be a trustworthy person (e.g., an employee of your bank, the tax office, etc.). The attacker stirs up emotions in his victim so that he will hand over sensitive data – such as credit card numbers or passwords.

8. Whaling

In this case, the attack is directed against high-ranking executives such as CEOs, CFOs and COOs. The goal is to obtain sensitive information and corporate data. First, the cybercriminals generate perfectly tailored emails with information from search engines and social media. They use the correct salutation with title, name, job title and details that make the message appear trustworthy. The further procedure corresponds to spear phishing, but the selection of high-ranking addressees along with their authority results in an extremely high dimension of damage.

9. Watering Hole Phishing

This type of phishing attack specifically targets businesses. To do so, the perpetrators locate the websites that your company or employees visit most often. The cybercriminals infect these websites in such a way that when you visit them, malware is automatically uploaded to your computer. This malware, in turn, provides the attackers with access to your network, servers, and sensitive information, such as personal and financial data.

10. Pharming

This refers to the targeted manipulation of DNS requests to web browsers. Thus, fraudulent emails are sent from authentic sources and ask you, for example, to perform a password change on your account. The tricky part is that the link you are supposed to click on uses the same web address as the original one, but you are redirected to a fake website. This happens either by infecting your computer, or by manipulating a DNS server so that the correct web address entered by the user is converted into a fake IP address. Thus, the victim ends up on a fake website and unthinkingly discloses his or her data.

Latest posts

Press contact

Romy Weigel
Marketing & PR Manager
Phone: +49 461 995838-97
Email: press@dgc.org

Follow us on

CyberInsights
Der Blog rund um
Ihre Datensicherheit

Phishing: Die wohl beliebteste Masche der Cyberkriminellen  

DGC Cyberinsights Blog - Phishing

Die Vorgehensweisen von Cyberkriminellen werden stets ausgefeilter und richten von Jahr zu Jahr höhere Schäden bei den Betroffenen an. Eine altbekannte und immer beliebter werdende Methode der Angreifer ist dabei das Phishing. Auch diese Cybercrime-Masche entwickelt sich ständig weiter und verfügt mittlerweile über besonders ausgeklügelte Taktiken. Was man gemeinhin unter Phishing versteht und welche vielfältigen Methoden es gibt, erklären wir Ihnen in diesem Beitrag.

Phishing: Was ist das?

Phishing ist eine Methode, die Sie dazu verleiten soll, Kennwörter, Kreditkartennummern und andere sensible Informationen preiszugeben, indem sich die Betrüger als vertrauenswürdige Person oder Institution ausgeben. Diejenigen, die bereits von einem Angriff betroffen waren, fielen am häufigsten auf E-Mail-Phishing herein (56 %). Dahinter folgten Phishing-Websites (36 %), Telefon-Phishing (22 %) und gefälschte SMS (10 %).

Phishing ist daher die beliebteste Masche der Cyberkriminellen. Allein im ersten Quartal 2020 stieg die Bedrohung durch Phishing-Angriffe um 21 % im Vergleich zum viertel Quartal 2019. Nicht ohne Grund, denn ein erfolgreicher Phishing-Angriff kann weitere Einfallstore öffnen. Damit zählt Phishing zu den größten Risiken vor denen Sie sich und ihre Mitarbeiter schützen sollten.

Doch Phishing kann auf verschiedene Arten und Weisen durchgeführt werden und ist längst nicht mehr auf das gemeine E-Mail-Phishing zu begrenzen.

Mit diesen 10 Phishing-Methoden „phishen“ Cyberkriminelle nach Ihren sensiblen Daten

Von Clone Phishing über Smishing zu Whaling: Es gibt zahlreiche Phishing-Methoden, über die Angreifer auf unterschiedliche Weise an Ihre wertvollen Daten gelangen wollen. Die häufigsten Taktiken, vor denen Sie sich schützen sollten, haben wir Ihnen hier zusammengefasst:

1. CEO Fraud

CEO-Betrug liegt vor, wenn ein Cyberkrimineller eine E-Mail an einen Mitarbeiter sendet – oftmals an jemanden, der in der Buchhaltungs- oder Finanzabteilung arbeitet – und dabei vorgibt, der CEO des Unternehmens oder eine andere Führungskraft zu sein. Das Ziel dieser E-Mails ist es, Gelder auf ein gefälschtes Konto zu überweisen.

2. Clone Phishing

Ein Klon-Phishing-Angriff macht sich legitime Nachrichten zunutze, die das Opfer bereits erhalten hat, um eine bösartige Version davon zu erstellen. Diese wird dann von einer E-Mail-Adresse, die legitim wirkt, abgeschickt. Alle Links und Anhänge der ursprünglichen E-Mail werden durch böswillige ausgetauscht. Die Cyberkriminellen benutzen die Ausrede, dass es in der vorhergehenden Mail Probleme mit den Links oder Anhängen gab – womit Sie die User verleiten wollen, auf diese zu klicken.

3. Domain Phishing

Bei dieser Methode wird die Domain (Website) eines Unternehmens oder einer Organisation vorgetäuscht. Um die User auf diese Domain zu bringen, werden E-Mails versendet – entweder mit dem Absender der Domain, oder über Fake-Adressen vertrauter Kontakte. Der Inhalt der E-Mail kann einen glaubwürdigen Text mit einem Link enthalten oder nur einen Link. Der ist entweder anklickbar oder nicht aktiv, so dass ihn der Empfänger in die Webadressleiste kopieren muss. In diesem Fall ist es sogar für Sicherheitsfilter schwer, den Phishing Versuch zu erkennen. Auf der Website angelangt, wird der Besucher nun dazu verleitet, persönliche Daten preiszugeben. Gängige Beispiele für Domain Spoofing sind Datenschutzanfragen, Gewinnspiele, Sicherheitsüberprüfungen, etc.

4. Evil-Twin

Evil-Twin-Phishing tarnt sich als legitimer Wi-Fi-Zugangspunkt, Dadurch kann der Angreifer ohne Wissen des Endbenutzers, persönliche oder geschäftliche Informationen sammeln. Diese Art von Angriff wird auch als Starbucks-Betrug bezeichnet, da er häufig in Coffeeshops stattfindet. Beim Evil-Twin-Phishing erstellt ein Cyberkrimineller einen Wi-Fi-Hotspot, der wie der echte aussieht – er verwendet sogar den festgelegten Service-Identifier (SSID), der mit dem echten Netzwerk identisch ist. Wenn der Endbenutzer eine Verbindung herstellt, kann der Angreifer ihren Netzwerkverkehr belauschen und sensible Daten einsehen.

5. Smishing

Smishing ist eine Kurzform von SMS-Phishing. Beim Smishing wird eine Textnachricht an das Handy des Empfängers versendet, die von vertrauenswürdigen Quellen zu kommen scheinen und bösartige URLs enthalten, auf die sie klicken sollen. Häufig werden angebliche Gutscheincodes für Rabattaktionen, Freikarten für Veranstaltungen oder sonstige Vorteile versprochen. Ziel ist es an vertrauliche Informationen zu gelangen, die Cyberkriminelle nutzen können, um Ihre Online-Identität zu stehlen.

6. Spear Phishing

Spear-Phishing-E-Mails zielen auf bestimmte Personen innerhalb einer Organisation ab. Sie verwenden Social-Engineering-Taktiken, um die E-Mails auf ihre beabsichtigten Opfer zuzuschneiden und zu personalisieren. So können E-Mail-Betreffzeilen interessante Themen enthalten, die den Empfänger dazu verleiten, die Nachricht zu öffnen und auf Links oder Anhänge zu klicken. Das Ziel ist, Daten zu stehlen oder den Computer des Empfängers mit Malware zu infizieren. Damit können die Angreifer Spear Phishing Zugang zum Netzwerk und zu den Accounts der Empfänger bekommen.

7. Vishing

Die Bezeichnung steht für „Voice Phishing, bei der ein Krimineller Ihr Telefon anruft, um Sie zur Herausgabe von persönlichen Daten zu bringen, um damit Zugriff auf Ihre Konten zu erhalten. In der Regel werden Sie im Erstkontakt nicht direkt angerufen, sondern zu einem Rückruf animiert. Ein Computer wählt Sie an und legt sofort wieder auf. Wenn Sie zurückrufen, haben Sie den Täter am Apparat, der sich gerne als vertrauenswürdige Person (z.B. Mitarbeiter Ihrer Hausbank, des Finanzamts, etc.) ausgibt. Der Angreifer schürt bei seinem Opfer Emotionen, damit dieser sensible Daten – etwa Kreditkartennummern oder Passwörter – herausgibt.

8. Whaling

Hier richtet sich der Angriff gegen hochrangige Führungskräfte wie CEOs, CFOs und COOs. Das Ziel ist es, an sensible Informationen und Unternehmensdaten zu gelangen. Zunächst generieren die Cyberkriminellen perfekt zugeschnittene E-Mails mit Informationen aus Suchmaschinen und Social Media. Sie benutzen die korrekte Anrede mit Titel, Namen, Berufsbezeichnung und Details, die die Nachricht vertrauenswürdig erscheinen lassen. Das weitere Vorgehen entspricht dem Spear Phishing, aber die Auswahl der hochrangigen Adressaten samt deren Befugnisse hat eine extrem hohe Dimension der Schäden zur Folge.

9. Watering Hole Phishing

Diese Art von Phishing-Angriff zielt speziell auf Unternehmen ab. Die Täter machen dazu die Websites ausfindig, die Ihr Unternehmen oder Ihre Mitarbeiter am häufigsten besuchen. Die Cyberkriminellen infizieren diese Websites so, dass bei einem Besuch automatisch Malware auf Ihrem Computer hochgeladen wird. Diese Schadsoftware wiederum beliefert die Angreifer mit dem Zugang zu Ihrem Netzwerk, den Servern und zu sensiblen Informationen, wie persönliche und finanzielle Daten.

10. Pharming

Darunter versteht man die gezielte Manipulation von DNS-Anfragen an Webbrowser. So werden betrügerische E-Mails von authentischen Quellen geschickt und fordern Sie beispielsweise auf, eine Passwortänderung auf Ihrem Konto durchzuführen. Das Tückische daran ist, dass der Link, auf den Sie klicken sollen, dieselbe Webadresse wie das Original verwendet, Sie aber auf eine gefälschte Website weitergeleitet werden. Das geschieht entweder durch Infektion Ihres Computers, oder durch Manipulation eines DNS-Servers, so dass die vom Benutzer eingegebene, korrekte Internetadresse in eine falsche IP-Adresse umgewandelt wird. So landet das Opfer auf einer Fake Website und gibt unbedarft seine Daten Preis.

Folgen Sie uns auf