CyberInsights
The blog about your IT security

Incident Response Plan: Be prepared for emergencies

Incident Response Plan: Be prepared for emergencies

There is no such thing as 100 percent protection against cyber attacks. Even companies with high IT security standards still face a residual risk from zero-day exploits or perfidious social engineering. If the worst comes to the worst, a coordinated approach can prevent greater damage. We show you what is important when designing an Incident Response Plan.

In the event of a cyber attack, a quick and effective response is crucial to limiting the damage. For this to work, however, you need to have thought about what to do in such a case in advance. The keyword here is Incident Response Management.

What is Incident Response Management?

Incident Response Management comprises strategies that help companies and organizations respond quickly and in a coordinated manner to IT security incidents. The goal is to identify security incidents, bring the situation under control, limit the damage, and get compromised IT systems up and running again as quickly as possible.

In general, Incident Response Management covers the entire security Incident Response Process. This includes:

  • the preparation and documentation of an Incident Response Plan
  • the identification of threats and their mitigation
  • the elimination of malware and/or security vulnerabilities
  • recovery measures after an incident
  • subsequent evaluation and process optimization

Incident Response Management helps companies limit damage, prevent further incidents if possible, and meet applicable compliance regulations, such as those defined in the new IT Security Act 2.0.

The Incident Response Team

The conception of a response plan and the implementation of the procedures defined in it are carried out by a team of IT experts. However, a holistic response plan also involves experts from other specialist departments, since IT security incidents are not only problematic at the technical level: Data leaks can have a negative impact on a company’s reputation and image, which should be responded to with appropriate communication. There is also a need for action from a legal and personnel perspective. The following roles and departments are therefore typically involved in an IRP:

  • Management / C-Level
  • Incident Response Manager
  • Security analysts
  • IT and security engineers
  • Threat Researcher
  • Legal department and risk management
  • Corporate Communications
  • HR
  • External IT security experts

An Incident Response Team can be built in-house or provided externally through a managed security service provider (MSSP) to ensure effective security policies.

Incident Response Tools

Modern IT security concepts include a wide range of tech solutions. Among other things, they are used to detect security incidents and, in many cases, to respond to them automatically. Depending on the individual situation, the following tools, for example, are used as part of general security strategies and thus also in responding to security incidents:

Security Information and Event Management (SIEM):

SIEM solutions collect logs from applications, infrastructure, security tools, firewalls and all other relevant components of an IT ecosystem. If the algorithm detects irregularities or suspicious activity, security teams receive an alert and can initiate further investigations.

Extended Detection and Response (XDR):

XDR is used on end devices such as laptops, workstations and servers. XDR solutions monitor devices for security risks and, if necessary, automatically initiate suitable, predefined measures. For example, compromised devices or software with security risks are isolated from the network.

Network Traffic Analysis (NTA):

Network Traffic Analysis or NTA captures, logs and evaluates network data and communication patterns for anomalous traffic. NTA enables response to security incidents related to the core network, operational networks, or cloud networks.

Vulnerability Scanner:

Vulnerability scanners such as cyberscan.io® developed by DGC identify potential risks in IT systems and help to holistically assess a company’s risk profile and put appropriate measures in place.

How to create an Incident Response Plan

An IRP defines the order and manner in which the Incident Response Team responds to security incidents. In advance, it is important to ensure the highest possible level of responsiveness and to minimize security risks:

Determine critical network components: Since corporate networks are often very complex, it is important to identify the most important data and systems and set priorities for their backup. As part of a backup strategy, important data should always be stored as backup copies in a secure location in order to be able to act again as quickly as possible in the event of a hacker attack.

Resilience: Every critical component of a network should be replaceable at short notice. This includes hardware, software and also employee roles. Network services remain available via redundancies or failover functions. If a particular employee is unable to perform his or her role as part of the response plan, someone else should be able to take over. In addition, backups and failovers keep operations running while limiting damage and interruption time to networks and operations.

Involve employees: Generally, it is sufficient if the IT department understands the technical aspects of the emergency plan in detail. Nevertheless, all of a company’s employees should be sensitized to the topic of IT security – and know what to do for them in the event of a cyber attack. Effective, cross-departmental collaboration can decisively shorten the duration of disruptions.

Create IRP: A formal emergency response plan ultimately ensures that all employees know their roles in the event of a cyber attack. The essential points of an IRP include:

  • a list of roles and responsibilities
  • a business continuity plan
  • an overview of tools, technologies and physical resources that are available
  • a list of important network and data recovery processes
  • a concept for internal and external communication

Incident Response Management: Benefiting from external experts

When designing a customized Incident Response Plan, it pays to work with an experienced IT security service provider such as DGC. Depending on the requirements and industry, exactly the right and important measures are combined. These range from advice on setting up a company’s own Incident Response Team, through security awareness training for employees, to the complete takeover of all IT security tasks by the experts from the Cyber Defense Operation Center (CDOC). This enables companies to prepare themselves in the best possible way for emergencies and avoid major damage.

We would be happy to advise you on your individual Incident Response Plan. Contact us now.

Follow us on

Subscribe to our newsletter on the topic of cyber security

With our Cyberletter you are always up to date - about vulnerability reports, current IT threat scenarios and other relevant news from the field of cyber security and data security.

By registering, I accept the handling of my personal data (§13 DSGVO) and agree to the privacy policy.

CyberInsights
Der Blog rund um
Ihre Datensicherheit

Incident Response Plan: Auf den Ernstfall vorbereitet sein

Incident Response Plan: Auf den Ernstfall vorbereitet sein

100-prozentigen Schutz vor Cyberangriffen gibt es nicht. Durch Zero-Day-Exploits oder perfides Social Engineering bleibt selbst für Unternehmen mit hohen IT-Sicherheitsstandards ein Restrisiko. Tritt der Ernstfall ein, verhindert eine koordinierte Vorgehensweise größeren Schaden. Wir zeigen Ihnen, worauf es bei der Konzeption eines Incident Response Plans ankommt.

Im Fall einer Cyberattacke trägt eine schnelle und effektive Reaktion entscheidend zur Schadensbegrenzung bei. Damit das klappt, muss man sich jedoch bereits im Vorfeld Gedanken darüber gemacht haben, was in so einem Fall zu tun ist. Das Stichwort lautet hier Incident Response Management.

Was ist Incident Response Management?

Incident Response Management umfasst Strategien, die Unternehmen und Organisationen dabei helfen, schnell und koordiniert auf IT-Sicherheitsvorfälle zu reagieren. Das Ziel besteht darin, Sicherheitsvorfälle zu erkennen, die Situation unter Kontrolle zu bringen, den Schaden zu begrenzen und kompromittierte IT-Systeme möglichst schnell wieder einsatzfähig zu machen.

Generell deckt das Incident Response Management den gesamten Prozess der Reaktion auf Sicherheitsvorfälle ab. Dazu zählen:

  • die Vorbereitung und Dokumentation eines Vorfallreaktionsplans
  • die Identifikation von Bedrohungen und deren Eindämmung
  • die Beseitigung von Schadsoftware und/oder Sicherheitslücken
  • Wiederherstellungsmaßnahmen nach einem Vorfall
  • anschließende Evaluation und Prozessoptimierung

Incident Response Management hilft Unternehmen dabei, Schäden zu begrenzen, weitere Vorfälle möglichst zu verhindern und geltenden Compliance-Vorschriften gerecht zu werden, wie sie beispielsweise im neuen IT-Sicherheitsgesetz 2.0 definiert sind.

Das Incident Response Team

Die Konzeption eines Reaktionsplans und die Umsetzung der darin festgelegten Verfahren erfolgt durch ein Team aus IT-Experten. Ein ganzheitlicher Reaktionsplan bindet jedoch auch Experten aus anderen Fachabteilungen ein, da IT-Sicherheitsvorfälle nicht nur auf technischer Ebene problematisch sind: Datenlecks können sich negativ auf die Reputation und das Image eines Unternehmens auswirken, worauf mit angemessener Kommunikation reagiert werden sollte. Auch aus rechtlicher und personeller Perspektive besteht Handlungsbedarf. Folgende Rollen und Abteilungen sind daher typischerweise in einen IRP eingebunden:

  • Geschäftsführung / C-Level
  • Manager für Incident Response
  • Sicherheitsanalysten
  • IT- und Sicherheitsingenieure
  • Bedrohungsforscher
  • Rechtsabteilung und Risikomanagement
  • Unternehmenskommunikation
  • HR
  • Externe IT-Sicherheitsexperten

Ein Incident Response Team kann unternehmensintern aufgebaut werden oder über einen Managed Security Service Provider (MSSP) von außen für effektive Sicherheitskonzepte sorgen. Auch die Zusammenarbeit interner Teams mit externen Dienstleistern ist möglich.

Incident Response Tools

Moderne IT-Sicherheitskonzepte umfassen eine Vielzahl an Tech-Lösungen. Sie dienen unter anderem dazu, Sicherheitsvorfälle zu erkennen und in vielen Fällen auch automatisch darauf zu reagieren. Je nach individueller Situation kommen im Rahmen allgemeiner Sicherheitsstrategien und damit auch bei der Reaktion auf Sicherheitsvorfälle zum Beispiel folgende Tools zum Einsatz:

Security Information and Event Management (SIEM):

SIEM-Lösungen sammeln Protokolle von Anwendungen, Infrastruktur, Sicherheitstools, Firewalls und allen anderen relevanten Bestandteilen eines IT-Ökosystems. Erkennt der Algorithmus dabei Unregelmäßigkeiten oder verdächtige Aktivitäten, erhalten Sicherheitsteams eine Warnmeldung und können weitere Untersuchungen in die Wege leiten.

Extended Detection and Response (XDR):

XDR kommt auf Endgeräten wie Laptops, Workstations und Servern zum Einsatz. XDR-Lösungen überwachen Geräte im Hinblick auf Sicherheitsrisiken und leiten gegebenenfalls automatisiert passende, im Vorfeld definierte Maßnahmen ein. Dabei werden beispielsweise kompromittierte Geräte oder Software mit Sicherheitsrisiken vom Netzwerk isoliert.

Netzwerkverkehrsanalyse (NTA):

Die Netzwerkverkehrsanalyse oder Network Traffic Analysis erfasst, protokolliert und bewertet Netzwerkdaten und Kommunikationsmuster im Hinblick auf auffälligen Datenverkehr. NTA ermöglicht die Reaktion auf Sicherheitsvorfälle, die mit dem Kernnetzwerk, betrieblichen Netzwerken oder Cloud-Netzwerken zusammenhängen.

Vulnerability Scanner:

Schwachstellen-Scanner wie der von der DGC entwickelte cyberscan.io® identifizieren potenzielle Risiken in IT-Systemen und helfen dabei, das Risikoprofil eines Unternehmens ganzheitlich zu bewerten und passende Maßnahmen in Stellung zu bringen.

So entsteht ein Incident Response Plan

Ein IRP legt fest, in welcher Reihenfolge und auf welche Art und Weise das Incident Response Team auf Sicherheitsvorfälle reagiert. Im Vorfeld gilt es, ein möglichst hohes Maß an Reaktionsfähigkeit zu gewährleisten und Sicherheitsrisiken zu minimieren:

Kritische Netzwerkkomponenten bestimmen: DaUnternehmensnetzwerke oft sehr komplex sind, gilt es, die wichtigsten Daten und Systeme zu ermitteln und Prioritäten für deren Sicherung zu setzen. Im Rahmen einer Backup-Strategie sollten wichtige Daten grundsätzlich als Sicherheitskopien an einem sicheren Ort gespeichert werden, um im Fall eines Hackerangriffs möglichst schnell wieder handlungsfähig zu sein.

Ausfallsicherheit: Jede kritische Komponente eines Netzwerks sollte kurzfristig ersetzbar sein. Dazu zählen Hardware, Software und auch Mitarbeiterrollen. Über Redundanzen oder Failover-Funktionen bleiben Netzwerkdienste verfügbar. Ist ein bestimmter Mitarbeiter nicht in der Lage, seine Funktion im Rahmen des Reaktionsplan wahrzunehmen, sollte jemand anderes seine Rolle übernehmen können. Darüber hinaus halten Backups und Ausfallsicherungen den Betrieb aufrecht und begrenzen gleichzeitig den Schaden und Unterbrechungszeiten für Netzwerke und Betriebsabläufe.

Mitarbeitende einbinden: Generell ist es ausreichend, wenn die IT-Abteilung die technischen Aspekte des Notfallplans im Detail versteht. Dennoch sollten alle Mitarbeitenden eines Unternehmens für das Thema IT-Sicherheit sensibilisiert werden – und wissen, was für sie im Fall einer Cyberattacke zu tun ist. Eine effektive, abteilungsübergreifende Zusammenarbeit kann die Dauer von Unterbrechungen entscheidend verkürzen.

IRP erstellen: Ein formeller Notfallplan sorgt letztendlich dafür, dass im Fall einer Cyberattacke alle Mitarbeitenden ihre Aufgaben kennen. Zu den wesentlichen Punkten eines IRP zählen:

  • eine Liste mit Rollen und Verantwortlichkeiten
  • ein Plan zur Aufrechterhaltung des Geschäftsbetriebs
  • eine Übersicht zu Tools, Technologien und physischen Ressourcen, die zur Verfügung stehen
  • eine Liste mit wichtigen Netzwerk- und Datenwiederherstellungsprozessen
  • ein Konzept für die interne und externe Kommunikation

Incident Response Management: Von externen Experten profitieren

Bei der Konzeption eines maßgeschneiderten Incident Response Plans macht sich die Zusammenarbeit mit einem erfahrenen IT-Sicherheitsdienstleister wie der Deutschen Gesellschaft für Cybersicherheit (DGC) bezahlt. Je nach Anforderungen und Branche werden genau die richtigen und wichtigen Maßnahmen kombiniert. Diese reichen von der Beratung zum Aufbau eines unternehmenseigenen Incident Response Teams, über Security Awareness Trainings von Mitarbeitenden bis hin zur vollständigen Übernahme sämtlicher IT-Sicherheitsaufgaben durch die Experten aus dem Cyber Defense Operation Center (CDOC). So gelingt es Unternehmen, sich bestmöglich auf den Ernstfall vorzubereiten und größeren Schaden zu vermeiden.

Gerne beraten wir Sie zu Ihrem individuellen Incident Response Plan. Nehmen Sie jetzt Kontakt auf.

Folgen Sie uns auf

Abonnieren Sie unseren Newsletter rund um das Thema Cybersicherheit

Mit unserem Cyberletter sind Sie stets topaktuell informiert - über Schwachstellenmeldungen, aktuelle IT-Bedrohungsszenarien sowie andere relevante Nachrichten aus dem Bereich Cyber Security und Datensicherheit

Mit der Anmeldung akzeptiere ich den Umgang mit meinen personenbezogenen Daten (§13 DSGVO) und stimme der Datenschutzerklärung zu.